Italian rider Elena Cecchini of Canyon//Sram Racing has won the second stage of the Lotto Thüringen Ladies Tour in Meiningen. She sprinted to the victory ahead of yesterdays winner Coryn Rivera (Team SUNWEB) and Lisa Brennauer (Wiggle High5).

The second stage of the Lotto Thüringen Ladies Tour took place in Meiningen. The riders started the race in good weather conditions on the market in the city centre of Meiningen. With 132,7 km to go, the stage was already the second longest of the 7 day stage race.

Already in the first of four laps, Mia Radotic (BTC City Ljubljana) attacked and got a gap of more than a minute on the peloton. But with the first mountain classification coming closer, the bunch accelerated the pace and caught Radotic. Later on a group of 12 riders formed a breakaway. Their gap grew and grew with 1:45 minutes as maximum gap. For a long time it looked as if the group could make  it to the finish, but the bunch came closer and bridged the gap in the beginning of the fourth and last lap. Several attacks followed, on the climb to the last mountain classification which split the peloton into several groups. Afterwards it was a rider of BTC City Ljubljana again who was able to get a gap. Eugenia Bujak attacked with 25 kilometers to go. She powered her way towards the finish but the bunch, which was lead by Team SUNWEB, closed the gap and caught Bujak 3 kilometers before the finish. The race ended with a massed sprint of an reduced bunch in which Elena Cecchini was the fasted. She outsprinted the current race leader Coryn Rivera and Lisa Brennauer. With her strong second place, Rivera also kept the yellow LOTTO Thüringen leaders jersey. After Cecchini finished fourth yesterday, she got the first podium and win for her team Canyon//Sram Racing in this years tour.. ‘It was a really tough race today, especially in the last lap. All the more I’m happy that I was able to take the win’, said Cecchini after the race.

leaders jerseys:

LOTTO THÜRINGEN Leader-Trikot                          Coryn Rivera (Team Sunweb)
WNT Sprint-Trikot                                                     Ellen von Dijk (Team Sunweb)
OPEL Schorr Berg-Trikot                                         Kathrin Hammes (Trek-Drops)
Sparkasse Nachwuchs-Trikot                                   Alba Teruel Ribes (Movistar Women Star)
IKK classic-Trikot (beste deutsche Fahrerin)           Lisa Brennauer (Wiggle High5)
Saalfelder Brauerei Aktiv-Trikot                                Mia Radotic (BTC City Ljubljana)
Gotha adelt – Amateur Trikot (wird nicht getragen) Demi Vollering (