Rozanne Slik (FDJ Nouvelle Aquitaine Futuroscope) has won the fifth stage of the Lotto Thüringen Ladies Tour which ended in a mountain top finish on the famous ‘Hankaberg’. She distanced Ellen van Dijk (Team Sunweb) and Malgazorta Jasinska (Movistar Women Team).

On todays stage 5, the riders had to do 4 laps of each 25,7 kilometers around the small village  of Dörtendorf. The race included 3 sprint classifications and 3 mountain classifications on top of the ‘Hankaberg’ where numerous spectators stood along the rode and cheered fro the girls.

Just like yesterday, the spectators saw an exciting race with many attacks in Dörtendorf today. Right after the start, Team Sunweb attacked a number of times and tried to put the other teams under pressure but no break was able to gain a big advantage. At the first mountain classification, five riders were able to break away. The break included Martina Ritter (Wiggle High5), Trixi Worrack (Canyon Sram Racing), Anna Christian (Trek-Drops), Pernille Mathiessen and the current race leader Coryn Rivera (both Team Sunweb). When they came to the third sprint classification, Mathiessen attacked in the front group and distanced herself from the companions. She had an advantage of a few seconds at ten bottom of the climb and was also able to cross the line on top of the mountain in first position. But Mathiessen was caught shortly afterwards. Then, Rivera attacked and dropped the other riders of the break. Trixi Worrack was the only rider who was capable to close the gap to the yellow jersey and they worked together very well. But the remaining teams in the bunch increased their speed and came closer. At the bottom of the last climb, one kilometer before the finish line, they had nearly caught the breakaway. Although the numerous spectators at the climb cheered for the German superstar Worrack and the race leader Rivera, the bunch overtook them on the climb up to the finish. Dutch rider Roxanne Slik was the strongest in the end. She beat Ellen van Dijk (Team Sunweb) and Malgazorta Jasinska (Movistar Women Team). Stage 4 winner Lisa Brennauer came in in fourth position and with that strong result she took over the yellow Lotto Thüringen leader jersey from Rivera who finished in 20th position. The first positions in the general classification are still very open, with Brennauer and van Dijk being only 2 seconds apart. Tomorrows stage takes place in Gotha and is considered to be the queen’s stage of the tour.

Leaders jerseys:

LOTTO THÜRINGEN Leader-Trikot            Lisa Brennauer (Wiggle High5)
WNT Sprint-Trikot                              Coryn Rivera (Team Sunweb)
OPEL Schorr Berg-Trikot                  Kathrin Hammes (Trek-Drops)
Sparkasse Nachwuchs-Trikot           Liane Lippert (Team Sunweb)
IKK classic-Trikot (beste deutsche Fahrerin) Lisa Brennauer (Wiggle High5)
Saalfelder Brauerei Aktiv-Trikot        Trixi Worrack (Canyon Sram Racing)
Gotha adelt – Amateur Trikot (wird nicht getragen) Demi Vollering (