At 14:01, the first rider went on the 18,7 km individual time trial course in Schmölln. In a time of 26:50min, Lauren Stephens of Team TIBCO Silicon Valley Bank took the win. Lisa Brennauer (Canyon SRAM Racing) reclaimed the yellow jersey with two days to go. Currently second in the overall classification is Ellen van Dijk (Nationalteam Netherlands) ahead of Hayley Simmonds (Team WNT) in third position.

Schmölln, 16th July 2017 (TRF)

 The first rider in todays hilly individual time trial was the Norwegian National time trial champion. But it was the German Mieke Kröger (Canyon SRAM Racing) who set a mark that was unbeaten for quite a long time. Having started in 6th position, Kröger managed to pass all five riders who started in front of her and therefore was the first to cross the line in Schmölln. In the end, she became sixth with a time of 27:40min. Lauren Stephens (TIBCO- Silicon Valley Bank) took over the lead and remained it until the end. “That’s a really fast course. I already knew it from the previous years. I wanted to avoid one or two minor mistakes that I did in the time trial here two years ago and it worked. This is really a challenging course that doesn’t allow any mistakes,” stage winner Stephens said after the victory ceremony. In a time of 26:51min and therefore only one second behind Lauren Stephens, former time trial world campion Ellen van Dijk became second. With this strong performance, van Dijk managed to move up to a second place in the GC too. Lisa Brennauer, who lost her yellow jersey in Weimar yesterday, reclaimed the first place in the overall classification with a third place in todays time trial (26:56min). “The first three kilometers were really tough. It is quite hard to find a rhythm on this course as it goes uphill in the beginning and has some difficult parts in it. But at some point I felt very good and was able to do a good race. It was a very good day for me and my team,” said Brennauer after becoming third. She’s now 18 seconds ahead of Ellen van Dijk and 26 seconds ahead of yesterdays stage winner Hayley Simmonds in the general classification.

The next stage will take place in Greiz tomorrow. It is well known for its steep climbs and permanent change of uphill and downhill passages. The 108km stage contains two mountain classifications and three sprint classifications and will probably bring some more changes in the general classification of this years’ Lotto Thüringen Ladies Tour.


LOTTO THÜRINGEN leader jersey Lisa Brennauer (CANYON/SRAM Racing)

WNT sprint jersey Amy Pieters (Nationalteam Niederlande)

OPEL mountain sprint jersey Tayler Wiles (UnitedHealthcare Pro Cycling)

Sparkasse jersey for the best young rider Emma White (Nationalteam USA)

IKK classic jersey for the best German rider Trixi Worrack (CANYON/SRAM Racing) (as representative for Lisa Brennauer) (CANYON/SRAM Racing))

Saalfelder Brauerei jersey for the most active rider Aafte Soet (ParkHotel Valkenburg – Destil Cyclingteam)

Gotha adelt jersey for the best non-professional rider (not worn in the race) Lucy Kennedy (Nationalteam Australia)