top of page


The stage town of Schleiz has around 8,500 inhabitants, making it one of the smallest district towns in the Federal Republic of Germany. As such, Schleiz can now look back on almost 160 years, 134 of which have been uninterrupted, as the seat of the district administration. The Saale-Orla district represents the largest territory that has ever been administered from Schleiz.

Schleiz is rich in significant history. In 1553, under Burgrave Heinrich IV. ruled the entire Vogtland in one state parliament for the last time. 1806 took place at the gates of Schleiz the first battle of the Napoleonic and the allied Prussian-Saxon armies.


In 1682, Johann Friedrich Böttger, the inventor of European porcelain, saw this in Schleiz light of the world and in 1871 Dr. Konrad Duden at the local high school "Rutheneum" his spelling rules for the first time. Among the eminent sons of the city one finds numerous master builders, artists, athletes, politicians and clergymen who used the name Schleiz in carried out the world.

The Schleizer Bergkirche wins its admirers on the one hand through its exposed location on the

Liebfrauenberg opposite the city and on the other hand due to its unique beauty in the interior. In addition, it is among all the manorial burial places of the descendants of the bailiffs of Weida the burial church of most lines of this family - from the lords of Gera to Prince Reuss.

Located at the intersection between the Thuringian Forest and Vogtland tourist regions Schleiz can be easily reached via the A9. Benefited from good transport links the economic development of the city. This is how the industrial and commercial locations Schleiz-Oschitz, Wolfsgalgen and Schleiz-Süd came into being in recent years. 

This year, from 2nd to 18th June to be precise, the Schleizer Dreieck, the oldest natural racetrack in Germany and the first racetrack still in active use, is celebrating its 100th anniversary with a total of 13 events. The highlight of the festivities is the weekend of June 10th & 11th. Around 400 historic motorcycles, sidecars and automobiles will bring history to life again. Other events of the festival week are the 3rd Thuringian Motorsport Meeting, a vehicle and technology meeting, book readings, an evening of lectures, a celebration, theater performance, open-air cinema and the opening of an exhibition on the history of the track.

On July 16, the natural race track will once again become a cycling Mecca – the 12th Schleizer Dreieck Jedermann will take place here on this day. As in the team time trial as part of the Lotto Thüringen Ladies Tour, the amateurs also have to tackle the 7.6 kilometers of the original triangle - between five and 16 times, depending on the distance. More than ever, the focus is on the Schleizer Dreieck this year. 100 years Schleizer Dreieck combines sports on two, three and four wheels with the events from May to September. The fact that the city of Schleiz is the venue for the first stage and the team time trial of the Lotto Thüringen Ladies Tour this year and that the athletes from all over the world lead around the 100-year-old race track makes the event in 2023 something very special.    

worth seeing


Schleizer triangle ​

Since June 10, 1923, everything that has status and reputation on two, three or four wheels has been driving on the oldest NATURE RACE TRACK in GERMANY. Sporting highlights included the All-German Championship run in 1950 with 250,000 spectators and the Formula III races in the 1960s, which were well attended internationally. The Eastern Bloc Championships were held annually from 1972 onwards. International fields have been at the start again since 1990. 


Panorama from the Saale Tower
in Burgk

Visitors to the Saaleturm have the best views. The wooden tower in the Burgk district of Schleiz is the youngest lookout tower in the region. It was inaugurated in 2011. From a height of 43 meters - after 192 steps - you can see the beautiful Saale area and Burgk Castle. The maximum visibility on the top platform is 32 kilometers. There is a snack bar with outdoor seating and toilets as well as parking spaces for 130 vehicles directly at the tower. The car park can be used as a starting point for hikes e.g. B. to the Kobersfelsen* can be used.

bottom of page